simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

The Halftime Show

I’m not a huge fan of professional football. College football? Love it! Professional? Not so much. The only game I’m likely to watch all year is the Super Bowl. I watch in part because I’m succumbing to peer pressure. I don’t want to be the only kid on the playground who doesn’t know what happened. Of course I want to see how advertisers manage to push the creative boundaries. And after the infamous “wardrobe malfunction” a few years ago, I don’t want to miss what may happen during halftime.

Word has it that Madonna was very nervous in the days leading up to this performance. That surprised me. I know Madonna is just human and all, but Madonna is, well, Madonna! She’s used to the spotlight by now, right?

I know there are a lot of haters out there tonight, talking about her wardrobe (what – she’s completely covered?!), her performance, her over-the-top design and choreography. I laughed when one person I follow on twitter said, “This may be the first time in history that Madonna has actually put ON clothes during a show.” Still, I have a confession to make. I loved it! I really did. Madonna was classic Madonna, without trying to be 20-year-old Madonna.

madonna

There were complaints, mostly from moms, that her performance was unsuitable for young eyes. Another Madonna fan was quick to point out that kids that young should be in bed by then anyway. True.

My kids should have been in bed. They have an 8:00 bedtime on school nights. Unfortunately, I got a little distracted and the halftime show started before I got the kids tucked in. I was so blown away by Madonna’s grand entrance that I forgot all about my Mia sitting on the other side of the room. Then about halfway through the show, I heard her sweet little voice saying, “Little kids should not be watching this!” Oops! I guess this mama forgot!

It could have been worse. She could have had a wardrobe malfunction.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “The Halftime Show

  1. I loved it too. My kids are well grown, so I don’t have the same “mom” eyes I used to have – but I appreciated that she dressed appropriately and had enough of the Madonna (Goddess) imagery to still be herself. She had a great set, lights, stage – and I like that she brought in Cee Lo and Nicki Minaj, and did a football theme. She put on a show – not just a worn out old rocker set of music like some of the old guys who have played before.

    • I loved the “flavor” that Cee Lo brought to the show at the end. It was a combination of two larger-than-life personalities – and it worked!

      You could tell that she was moving more carefully/thoughtfully than she did 20 years ago. Goodness, in those heels it’s hard to do anything else! But I loved that she maintained the Madonna personality while embodying who she is now, at 53. Good for her! (Another observation from Mia: “She doesn’t look like she’s 53. She looks like she’s 23!” Wonder how she does that?)

  2. I don’t know if I loved every aspect of the show, but I appreciated every single bit of it. There is no doubt the show was well-rehearsed, well-planned and demonstrated Madonna’s level of talent and physical fitness. She was poised and had her act together. What I thought about (besides the fact that my 5-year-old was also up watching it… as well as the M & M “I’m Sexy and I Know It” commercial) is how our expectations are SO HIGH. There’s really no winning that game. If you’re Madonna, or anyone else, you just have to do your thing and let the chips fall where they may.

Leave a comment