simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Simply Jan – A Writing Year in Review

2012

This has been a transitional year for me in writing. I shed my pseudonym and started writing under my real name. I took the plunge and risked sharing my writing with everyone. I completed the May Blogathon for the second year in a row, successfully finished a couple of other blogging challenges, and even tackled NaNoWriMo for the first time. I didn’t write 50,000 words, but did I ever write a lot!

I have some very specific, very ambitious goals set for 2013, but before moving ahead, I thought I would first take a look back.

My Five Most Viewed Posts of 2012:

What Good Writers Do (I have to admit that I really don’t understand why this would be one of my top posts. The only thing I can figure is that a lot of desperate wannabe writers like myself stumbled on it through Google. I’m just sorry I didn’t have anything more substantive to offer!)

Melancholy (This one was also a surprise to me.)

A Sandusky Sermon (Yes, there was much passion behind this one.)

What Is the Right Kind of Princess Story? (There was much passion behind this one as well. I tapped into my suppressed inner feminist this year in a big way.)

Single Mothers (Don’t mess with Mama Bear!)

Five of My Personal Favorite Posts of 2012:

Wind Blown (As you can tell, wind has long been a powerful symbol in my inner/dream life.)

And Now I Call It “Rush” (There’s that inner feminist again!)

A Matter of Perspective (This summarizes what my year of writing has felt like for me – a total mixed bag.

Guest Post: The Associate Pastor of Paws (This is by far the most fun I’ve ever had writing a post.)

I Live You (I do! I really do!)

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Simply Jan – A Writing Year in Review

  1. Love this idea for a post. Thanks.
    And I got to read more of your blessed writing, too!

  2. Kimberly Bates McCarl on said:

    Jan,

    I didn’t realize you were a writer. I just signed up to get your posts. I am looking forward to reading them.

Leave a Reply

