simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Just Do It

I will do X when Y happens. Ever thought or said that?

I will put up the Christmas tree and decorate when I (a) I have an uninterrupted block of time, and/or (b) all the kids are here, and/or (c) the den is sufficiently uncluttered and cleaned. The Christmas tree hasn’t been put up yet.

I will write a few Christmas cards when (a) I get around to buying them and (b) I have all the addresses organized. I haven’t written any Christmas cards yet.

I will read that novel once I finish planning the details for all my seasonal special services. I haven’t read a word of that novel yet.

I will run in the morning when I get a good night’s sleep and wake up, well, actually awake. I haven’t run in almost a month.

I will cook supper at home every night when I get my meals planned and the groceries bought. Okay, so I’ve done a little better at the cooking at home lately, although I can’t say it’s been well planned in advance or that groceries for more than a meal or two have been purchased. Oh, and we are going out to grab a sandwich tonight.

I will write a blog post when I have a wonderfully inspiring idea that I know my handful of readers will love and will want to share with the world. . .

Ah, shoot. Surely something is better than nothing. Just do it!

just do it

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Just Do It

  1. I do love your blog posts and enjoy sharing them with the world. I did buy my Christmas cards but haven’t sent them out. The only thing I did early was annoy you with Christmas music far too early. 🙂

  2. Sometimes, just do it. Right. Hard truth. But, truth. I can fall so easily into sloth, or acedia…and the only way out is to just do it.

Leave a Reply

