simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

My Latest Experiment

As I mentioned about a month ago, I am experimenting with some different forms of writing these days. On a whim, I decided to hop on the NaNoWriMo wagon this year.

nano

For those who are not familiar with this, NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month. The goal is to write 50,000 words in the month of November. Folks, that is a LOT of words!

I don’t have any exquisitely plotted novel in mind, just some characters, a setting, and a few vague ideas of where it might go. I know I won’t have a real novel by the end of the month. I may or may not have 50,000 words by the end of the month. (After all, there are the wonderful time-intensive events like Thanksgiving and hopefully a trip to hear Anne Lamott during the month.) What I will have is a unique motivation for 30 days worth of experimental writing in the form of – as Anne Lamott would say – a long, sh*tty first draft. So far, I’m having a lot of fun with it.

Over the last two days, I’ve written well over 7000 words. About 1700 of those were a sermon, which obviously doesn’t count toward the NaNoWriMo total. But words written are words written and I’m pretty proud of that number!

Wish me and my new crew of imaginary friends luck in putting a decent story together!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “My Latest Experiment

  1. Oh my, that is a lot of words! Even the 7000 is impressive!

  2. That is quite a goal. Have fun and Godspeed on the journey!
    (And where are you going to hear Anne Lamott??)

  3. Yay. I can’t for your imaginary people to come to life. I hope they surprise you. Also, did I see you at the Panera office today? I was meeting with someone and couldn’t run across the place and tackle you, but I sent you a warm, invisible hug. If it wasn’t you, I invisibly hugged a stranger. 🙂

Leave a Reply

