simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

A Good Living Kind of Day

I posted on my blog every day in May. So far in June, I’ve posted every day except for Saturdays. It’s late on a Friday night and I haven’t written anything of substance. That’s okay. You know why?

Friday is my day off. I was awake for almost two hours in the middle of the night last night for some odd reason. So after taking my son to VBS, I came home and slept.

When I woke up, Anna and I picked Gus back up and headed for the beach where we enjoyed a gorgeous, absolutely perfect afternoon. Gus built an elaborate sand castle and proceeded with a war in it, complete with plastic army men. Anna and I relaxed and talked – a good talk.

We stopped for supper on the way home, where we ate our favorite food, talked more, and laughed.

I cut the grass when we got home. A chore, yes, but not a bad one. Anna cut the side yard for me, then she and Gus kicked the soccer ball in the cul de sac while I finished the rest of the yard.

Once I finished the yard, I joined them and we played for a long, long time.

I talked with Mia, who has been in Florida with my parents for almost a week now. I took great pleasure in listening in on a long conversation between Mia and Gus, as they caught up with each other.

A glass of milk, a soak in the tub, a text chat with a good friend have followed. I have a good book and a bed waiting on me.

You know, you can’t write about life unless you live life. It’s been a good living kind of day. I’m so very thankful.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

