simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Movie Inspiration

The 2012 Wordcount Blogathon has a theme for today: “five movies that have inspired my blogging.” I think I need to expand this to “five movies that have inspired my writing.”

1) All the President’s Men

apm movie

This is one of the first movies I remember seeing in the theater. I would have been 10 or 11. At the time I didn’t understand all the political implications in the movie, only that it was really cool to see a couple of reporters digging deep and making history. The fact that one of them was the younger, handsome Robert Redford certainly wasn’t lost on me, even at such a young age! I was already intrigued at the idea of being a writer, but being a writer, being nosy and sneaky . . . BINGO! Loved it!

2) You’ve Got Mail

meg

Sappy and unrealistic, I know. But I love this movie. Maybe it’s because I love Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks. Maybe it’s because she owned a bookstore (a really cute bookstore) and then became a writer. Maybe it’s because we see the real Tom Hanks character through his writing. Maybe it’s making connections online. Maybe I like sappy, unrealistic movies as an escape.

3) Under the Tuscan Sun and Eat, Pray, Love

tuscan eat pray love

I love both of these movies. Woman writer’s life falls apart. Woman picks self up and recreates self while traveling to amazing places, falling in love, and writing amazing memoirs. I’m not looking for my life to fall apart (again), but the rest of the plan I’d love to try!

4) Something’s Gotta Give

gotta give 

I could watch this one over and over again! Talk about getting sweet revenge and a happy ending all at once! (What? We’re not supposed to be getting revenge through our writing? Oops!) I love the scenes where Diane Keaton is pouring out her pain all over the keyboard – alternately crying and laughing hysterically. So real life really can make the best fodder for our writing! This movie reminds me of the Anne Lamott quote: “You own everything that happened to you. Tell your stories.just change their height and hair color. No one ever once has recognized him or herself in my fiction. If people wanted you to write warmly about them, they should’ve behaved better.”

5) All the Harry Potter movies

hp movies

These movies have nothing to do with being a writer, but they remind me of the amazing things that can happen to a writer. True, J.K. Rowling hit the one-in-a-billion jackpot and just may have blown it for the rest of us in this generation. But really – a struggling single mother on public assistance writing away in a diner and hitting it big (bigger than big) – it is the Cinderella story for all writers. You go, J.K.Rowling. Thanks for showing us it can be done!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Movie Inspiration

  1. blessedmamaof5 on said:

    I’ve never heard of Something’s Got to Give – Putting that on hold at the library.

  2. Love Something’s Got to Give!! I gave up on sappy romance. My knight in shining armor always had armor that was borrowed, stolen, or financed at a very high interest rate. If you publish and become famous like J.K. Rowling, I expect an introduction to your publicist. 🙂

    • I’m skeptical of knights in shining armor as well, but I can handle them in movies. Usually. I’ve got to watch Something’s Gotta Give again, very soon.

Leave a Reply

