simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Just Go

There is a perfectionist living inside of me.

The perfectionist says not to hit the “post” button for my blog until I know every word is just right.

The perfectionist says not to talk about being a writer until I have the whole book plotted and outlined, and maybe even an agent and publisher in the wings.

The perfectionist says not to go running until I can run every single step of every single mile I attempt.

The perfectionist says not to pursue a relationship until my life is in order and my belly fat is gone.

The perfectionist says if I don’t listen, then everyone will see who I really am:  an amateur; a dreamer; out of shape; not all I should be.

But you know what? My blog won’t fall apart if it has a typo. At least my voice is being heard. There’s nothing wrong with being a dreamer, especially a dreamer with a plan. Yes, I’m out of shape; but with every step – walked or run – I’m getting stronger. I’m not perfect, but I have a lot to offer.

I don’t have to be perfect. I just have to be.

I don’t have to go fast. I just have to go.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Just Go

  1. I love the phrase – You don’t have to go fast. You just have to go. – I’m new to running so I am soooo slow. I always worry people think I’m rubbish.

    • Oh – me too! Slow as a turtle, and even it might beat me! I just try to keep on trying. Surely one day I will improve. Let me know how it goes for you. Maybe we can be turtles together.

  2. I say, “Kill the perfectionist.” I love you just the way you are..Simply Jan!! and support you in “being” and “going.”!!

    • Ooo – that appeals to my hidden aggressive side: Kill the perfectionist! You know, when I was around 30 I ran into my 1st grade teacher. I asked her what I was like as a child at school. She said she remembers that if I got a paper back that had anything marked wrong I would stuff it in my desk so that no one could see. That perfectionist has been with me for a long, long time.

  3. I worry that people think I am an idiot because I often write and post quickly and even though I re-read (most of the time) and make corrections, I always have typos and words left out. Oh well. If I spent more time proofing everything I write or plan I would never get anything done. So, I have had to learn to have compassion for me and my mistakes, as well as for others. Honestly, I never notice the typos on your blog. I like you just the way you are!

    • Thank you, Terri! I think the most important thing is getting it out there. Mistakes can be corrected later or ideas clarified when necessary. If we wait until everything is perfect (including us) to act, we’d never, ever act! I know these things, I just have to remind myself of them often.

  4. Brenda on said:

    I love the Jan that I know! You may be simplyjan, but you are simplyawesome to many!

  5. Janice on said:

    I find that as you get older, being all that perfect is not what it is about. I’ve learned to let go…What was that cute little saying “Don’t sweat the small stuff”. I find that I sleep better at night!

  6. Pingback: 10 Days, 10 Bloggers | Mridu Khullar Relph

Leave a Reply

