simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

I’m a Big Kid Now!

I did something today that I never thought I could do. I didn’t think I was smart enough, or good enough with numbers, or able to understand the details. I’ve always paid other people good money – in fact, a lot of money – to do it for me. But not this year. Not today.

Today I did my own taxes. And I feel good about it.

taxes 

It was a little like doing a puzzle. Hard at times, frustrating at times, but definitely not impossible. Why have I believed all these years that I can’t do it? True, there have been extenuating circumstances in some years when I know it was wise to have a professional do it for me. But most years, like this year, my tax situation is pretty simple. Taking on this challenge was good not just for my wallet, but also for my confidence. It was empowering.

I’m wondering, what else do I believe I can’t do that in fact, if I take a deep breath and tackle it head on, I really can?!

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “I’m a Big Kid Now!

  1. I don’t doubt for a minute that you CAN do anything you set your mind to do. OMG..look at what you have accomplished already. We can take a lesson from Stuart Smalley from Saturday Night Live. He says, “”I’m good enough. I’m smart enough. And doggone it, people like me.” Thanks for reminding me that I need to do my taxes. Time is short.

    • Oh, but you know how those self-doubts scream at us. So do tapes of voices past that we wish we could erase. I am a word person, not a numbers person. But I’m also a puzzle person, so when I put it into that perspective, it was almost fun. Almost. Well, not really. I called it my “evil place” all day. Once finished, however, the sense of accomplishment took over. 🙂

      • I have a symphony of self doubts and tapes from the past. So I get that for sure. So let me scream above all the other voices and say I think you are pretty damn special. 🙂

    • Also, Cathy, if I can do my taxes, surely I can figure out how to do a book proposal. Right? Is there a satisfaction guaranteed “turbo-proposal” program out there somewhere?

      • We need to enlist the help of my son on that one. He is a computer programer and writer. We need to that program NOW. Or a great cheap literary agent!

  2. Yay for you. I also loved reading your “seven things”…and yes…I am well trained by my cat!

  3. Wow! Totally impressed! I used to do it on my own when I was a single gal but now with the kids and the house and deductions and whatnot, I don’t trust myself not to goof it up!

    • Why, thank you! But before I make myself sound too smart, I have to say the Turbo Tax makes it pretty idiot-proof, as long as you have the right paperwork ready. Some years and some situations definitely justify hiring a professional, though.

  4. andilit on said:

    Rock on, Sister!! Such an empowering feeling, huh? I feel like I’ve slayed the number dragon with a pen when I’m done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

