simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Trust in the Slow Work of God

I get frustrated sometimes.

Things I think should be happening aren’t happening. Dreams are slow to unfold. Things I would like to happen now are taking a long time. Results I work hard to see aren’t yet visible.

I was stewing over these things while I was out running tonight. Running is particularly good for stewing, I think. All those negative, “not nice” emotions that I suppress so often get huffed and puffed to the surface. On good runs, they get huffed and puffed out of my system – at least for awhile.

On my cool-down walk back to the house, I remembered a prayer/poem that I discovered shortly before I left Landrum in 2009. I thought I remembered packing it away in a box with other written mementoes I couldn’t part with at the time. Once back home, I rifled through the box until I found it.

Yes, it still hold the same calming power for me in 2012 as it did in 2009. I’d like to share it with you. (Maybe you already know it well. If so, enjoy it again.) So for me, for one new good friend who is searching for answers and direction and another new good friend who is also having a frustrating/discouraging week, and for anyone else who needs these words:

Above all, trust in the slow work of God

We are quite naturally impatient in everything

to reach the end without delay

We should like to skip the intermediate stages.

We are impatient of being on the way to something

unknown, something new. And yet it is the law of all progress

that it is made by passing through

some stages of instability-

and that it may take a very long time.  And so I think it is with you.

your ideas mature gradually – let them grow,

let them shape themselves, without undue haste. Don’t try to force them on,

as though you could be today what time

(that is to say, grace and circumstances

acting on your own good will)

will make of you tomorrow. Only God could say what this new spirit

gradually forming within you will be. Give Our Lord the benefit of believing

that his hand is leading you, and accept the anxiety of feeling yourself

in suspense and incomplete.

  Trust in the slow work of God.

(by Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, 1881-1955)

bud

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Trust in the Slow Work of God

  1. Trust is such a big, scary word.

    I hope you believe in your “gift” for writing. I find your words on paper (or computer screen) as powerful and real as they are from the pulpit.

  2. Thank you. Your words – in combination with others – were what I needed to hear today.

  3. Oh, goodness. I needed this today. THanks.

    • I’m glad I was able to share something that helped someone besides just me. It’s amazing how often I think I must be the only person in the universe who feels the way I do, only to discover when I open up to others that I’m usually in very good company. Thanks for the share on FB, too.

  4. Trusting in God’s kairos is sometimes very hard for me!

Leave a Reply

