simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

A Nice Little Rhythm

Last week the kids didn’t return to school until Tuesday, so instead of hauling them to the church and parking them in front of a TV while I worked, I decided to work from home. It was a beautiful day and they played outside from 10-5, coming back inside only for lunch and the occasional drink of water. I stayed inside and worked (boo!) yet accomplished a whole lot (yay!). What did I accomplish? Well, five loads of laundry (washed, dried, folded, and put away) and four Sundays’ worth of planning (scripture selected, worship theme chosen, sermons loosely outlined, and liturgy written and/or selected).

laundry

I discovered that there is a nice little rhythm to the combined routines of planning/writing and laundry. There are periods of uninterrupted concentration broken up by quick breaks to move laundry to the next stage in the process, allowing for enhanced concentration following those quick breaks. I tend to work on the extremes. Sometimes I do this mad ADD multitasking thing that ultimately leads to very few tangible results. Other times I glue myself to the chair for hours on end, once again achieving few tangible results because my brain fries after awhile and my creativity goes up in smoke. This combination, however, seems to work. I was afraid that getting up so often would cause me to lose track of my thought pattern. What I discovered was that I usually came back to the computer with a better sense of clarity. Crazy, huh?

laptop

So this Monday, even though the kids were back in school, I decided to try it again. Mondays are normally very quiet at the church. Our administrative assistant is part-time, so more often than not I am alone in the church all day long. Some days that is no big deal. Enjoyable even. Other days it gets a little spooky. That’s a big, big building to occupy alone and there have been a few times when I’ve not felt safe. Not threatened, mind you, just hair-standing-up-on-the-back-of-my-neck uncomfortable. I don’t know about you, but I listen to little signs like that. And there was that one time I got caught up with an addict who was going through withdrawal. I didn’t let him in the building with me, but I couldn’t get away to get back in the building myself. Thank God for cell phones and neighboring pastors who answer theirs!

So what did I accomplish this Monday? Five more loads of laundry and Sundays planned up to Lent. A nice blend of home-work and church-work. Not bad for a day at home!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

