simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Gullah Thunder

I love a good summer afternoon  thunderstorm. Not a bad storm, mind you, just enough of a storm to bring a cooling rain and some Gullah thunder.

Gullah thunder? You haven’t heard of that? When I moved to the Lowcountry from the Upstate, one of the first things I noticed was how different thunder sounds down here. I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s because there are no mountains for sound to bounce off of like there were in the small town where I lived before. I really don’t know. When I mentioned it to my brother, he suggested that maybe with all the Gullah influences down here, the thunder has learned to rumble in Gullah. That explanation works for me!

We had a rough thunder-bumper to move through this afternoon, knocking off electricity at the church. No computer for writing. No lights for reading. The clouds were nighttime dark outside so natural light wasn’t enough. If I’d had a couch or an air mattress, I would have had perfect napping weather. Lightning held us hostage for a long time – too close and too unpredictable to make a safe dash to the car. So I sat in the dark, talked a little with the secretary, soothed Rookie’s raw puppy nerves, and relaxed. It was a mid-afternoon Sabbath, given by an act of God. What a blessing!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Gullah Thunder

  1. Angie Mizzell on said:

    And act of God, Indeed. I commented to my husband about how strange the thunder sounded yesterday. In our neighborhood in West Ashley, it was just an eery, intermittent rumble. Like the angels were up there moving boulders.

  2. jrculpepper on said:

    I almost feel guilty getting such pleasure from a sound that frightens my child and my poor dog, but it has its own special beauty.

Leave a Reply

