simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Like a Kid

You know what I think is so neat about kids, especially the younger ones? They love life and get excited about everything. Every single day is an adventure. Every new or unexpected experience is like a gift. They don’t know what to expect or even what could be, so they are rarely disappointed. Whoever is with them is their favorite playmate. Whatever toy is in their hand is their favorite toy. Their favorite memory is right now.

The older we get, the more we know. The more we know the more we expect. The more we expect, the more often we get disappointed. The more we know about what’s “out there” beyond our reach, the less satisfied we are with what’s “right here” in front of our faces.

My kids and I had a great July 4th. We were with friends. We had ocean and sand, two pools and a lazy river. The temperature was not too hot and there was a great breeze all day. None of the four of us sunburned. People-watching was at its best. Fireworks on the beach – a wild combination of professional fireworks and everybody else’s – were chaotically beautiful. Road travel, although very late going home, was uneventful. I couldn’t have asked for more.

Only I could have. I didn’t get everything I wanted for the 4th. I didn’t do everything I wanted to do or see everybody I wanted to see. In the middle of all the fun, there was an abiding sense of longing for what wasn’t happening. It made for a bittersweet kind of day.

Sometimes I wish I was a kid again.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Like a Kid

  1. Angie Mizzell on said:

    This is so true! Learning to be in the moment and appreciate it for what it has to offer is a daily practice.

Leave a Reply

