simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

RGBP Friday Five: The Way We Blogged

A friend and I were lamenting recently about the good ol’ days of blogging and memes. Certainly there are still some very active blogs around our web ring, but the days of the Friday Five getting 50-70+ responses are in the past. We lamented that the Friday Five is the equivalent of the women’s guild of RevGalBlogPals.

I am one of those who went from blogging just about daily to periodically at best. Unfortunately, the number I routinely read has gone down as well. What about you?

1) Have your blogging (writing/reading) habits shifted since the days of yore?

I’ve been blogging for over 6 years, but my posting habits have been sporadic. My “high” years were 2007 and 2008 with 200+ posts. My “low” was last year with a measly 48. I came very close to closing down the blog this spring, but instead I got a second wind and recommitted. I posted every day in May and June. Yay me! I like the discipline it brings to my writing and my attention to the details of life when I blog. I’m giving myself permission to back off from the 7 day a week posting schedule starting this month, but I still intend to post 4-5 times a week.

As for my reading habits, I still follow my favorites via Google Reader. I’ve gotten pretty slack on leaving comments though. I sure do miss the interaction we used to have through posts and comments.

2) Do you have some favorites that you miss?

Real Live Preacher was the one who introduced me to blogs to begin with – ironically, when he published a book of his posts and essays. I still read Gordon as he posts in other places, but I do miss Real Live Preacher.

3) Are there some blogs you still put in the ‘must read’ category?

My “must read” blogs are mainly those of fellow clergywomen who have formed a community via the RGBP ring. I’m afraid to start naming names, because just as soon as I do I’ll leave someone out. I’m still very much interested in following the lives, adventures, and ministries of these amazing women.

4) If we gathered at your knee, what would you tell us about those early days of blogging?

That the most amazing thing can happen – people just might actually read what you write. And they might respond. And you might find your world expanded exponentially through these amazing connections. Who would’ve thought it?!

5) Do you have a clip or a remembrance of a previous post of yours or someone else’s that you remember, you know an oldie but goodie?

Every Saturday during the months of June and July, I’ve revisited some of my favorite posts. Most of these I had forgotten until I took the time to re-read my blog back in April. Finding these forgotten memories were like stumbling upon precious treasures. They may not be of much value to anyone else, but to me – priceless.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “RGBP Friday Five: The Way We Blogged

  1. I like your idea of reposting old favorites. I've not done that but may try it. I think I have been reading and commenting on your blog almost as long as I have been blogging, since 2006!

  2. Terri, thank you for sticking with me and encouraging me through the years! I would encourage you to revisit and repost some of your old favorites. It was a fun exercise for me.

  3. I loved this. Thank you so much for playing!

  4. Terri, thank you for sticking with me and encouraging me through the years! I would encourage you to revisit and repost some of your old favorites. It was a fun exercise for me.

  5. I loved this. Thank you so much for playing!

Leave a Reply

