simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

The Praying Church Dog

From the time that Rookie joined our family 18 months ago, he was the church dog. He went with me to work every day from the very beginning. I am fortunate to be in a church made up largely of animal lovers. The older ladies just love him. The older men just love him. Everybody just loves him. Members of other churches have been known to make special trips to my church in order to see the church dog.

My church’s session holds its monthly meetings in my office. Some months I leave Rookie at home on session meeting days; other times I bring him with me. The elders chastise me on the days I leave him home. He adds personality to the meetings, I guess.

Last night Rookie was present for our meeting. As usual, he was well behaved. (Well, except for stealing my shoes from under my chair when I slipped them off mid-meeting. I should have known better.) We closed our meeting as we usually do – by praying the Lord’s Prayer together. Only this time I suggested that we stand and hold hands to pray.

“Our Father, who art in heaven . . .” ~ bark ~ “. . .hallowed be Thy name.” ~ bark, bark ~ It wasn’t his play-with-me bark. It wasn’t his I-hear-something bark. It wasn’t his feed-me bark. He was talking. “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.”  ~ bark ~ By this point he was scratching on the back of my leg, indicating he wanted me to pick him up. Obviously I couldn’t. Instead, I lifted up one foot behind me and he clung to it for the remainder of the prayer. “. . .For thine is the the kingdom” ~ bark ~ ‘”and the power” ~ bark, bark ~ “and the glory forever.” ~ bark ~

Amen.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “The Praying Church Dog

  1. That is so very cool. He needed to be in the circle too.

  2. Look at the picture! God obviously gave him a natural clerical collar to wear.

  3. Lol! I've never noticed the “collar” before you pointed it out. Funny!

  4. Look at the picture! God obviously gave him a natural clerical collar to wear.

  5. Lol! I've never noticed the “collar” before you pointed it out. Funny!

  6. Pingback: Guest Post: The Associate Pastor of Paws « simplyjan

Leave a Reply

