simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

My Favorite Books on Writing

The WordCount Blogathon theme post #1 is a challenge, because if there’s one thing I’m good at doing, it’s reading books about writing. I don’t necessarily put what I read in practice, but I enjoy thinking about it! Here are five of my favorite books on writing, saving the best of them for last.

5) The Pocket Muse, by Monica Wood: I never put much stock into the prewriting exercises that are often recommended to writers until I attended a workshop where we did them at the beginning of each session. I was amazed at how much it really did help. This book is filled with pictures and prompts for just such exercises.

4) On Writing, by Stephen King: Never a big fan of Stephen King (his stuff finds its way into my nightmares), I did enjoy his book on writing. This is a man who works hard! No wonder his books fill a couple of shelves at the library!

3) The Artist’s Way, by Julia Cameron: A classic, although I’ve never successfully worked all the way through her program. I tend to jump around, taking advantage of the parts that seem needed at the moment.

2) Do the Work, by Steven Pressfield: I am definitely familiar with the Resistance and have benefitted from his normalizing its presence, challenging its “insurmountable” power over us. A good, short pep talk.

And finally . . . drum roll, please . . . my all-time favorite writing book:

1) Bird by Bird, by Anne Lamott: I have read and re-read this one so many times that my copy is dog-eared and dirty. I love her permission-giving for sh*tty first drafts and advice on taking on bite-sized chunks of a project. This is, in my opinion, the best book on writing ever.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “My Favorite Books on Writing

  1. Thanks for sharing this list- I had only read a couple of these…and with your drum roll at the end- I decided I better get that one 🙂

    Glad to have found your blog from the blogathon blogroll!! Looking forward to some great posts.

  2. Let me know if you like it! It's a great book!

  3. I only have the artists way…and have only followed it now and then…maybe I should get some of these to help prompt my writing…especially the Lamott…

  4. I love Bird by Bird, which of course espouses a philosophy useful in many situations, but even more for the practical writing encouragement.

  5. Lamott is so permission-giving and human. For someone who has unbelievably high expectations of myself (and many of you are just like me!), that is so freeing.

Leave a Reply

