simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Blessed

It’s my birthday!

I thought for a little while about being a little bummed because somehow 46 sounds way older than 45. I’m not usually vain about that kind of thing, but I almost went there. Then I got smart. A number is just a number, and every year is a blessing. I lost my sister at just 49. I’ll take every year I’m granted as the gift that it truly is.

When I was growing up, my grandmother – we called her Mom – always wanted to be the first one to wish you a happy birthday. She would call bright and early – before school, before work, before church, or if your birthday happened to be on a Saturday, before you got out of bed. She’s been gone about 16 years now, but if I try I can still hear her voice. I miss that voice.

Things have changed over the years and all I have to say now is that Mom would have to get up very early to beat birthday greetings on Facebook! It has been a great joy to hear from friends and family, far and near. Tons of warm fuzzies!

Speaking of warm . . . thank you, God, for this spectacular spring day! Here it is, mid-March, and the weather was perfect for a barefoot run/walk on the beach. I have to tell you, Charleston has spoiled me in the 20 months I’ve lived here.

I had a great supper with my three kids, a quiet evening at home, and a good week ahead.

Blessed. Definitely blessed.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Blessed

  1. Happy Birthday!

  2. Belated good wishes!

Leave a Reply

