simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Jeezits and Juice*

*Hat tip to my brother Blogitch who shared his son’s creative naming of Communion.

Today was one of those rare Sundays off. The kids and I traveled back to the Upstate to spend time on the farm and to celebrate Gus’ birthday (a week late) with grandparents.

This morning we worshipped in the church of my childhood. It was great to go home. I was surprised at the number of familiar faces still in the church. It’s been years since I’ve been there for worship.

Today was communion Sunday both at PCPC and at Boulevard. At PCPC, volunteers cut bread into cubes for the sacrament. That’s all my younger kids have ever known for communion. At Boulevard, however, they use the tiny communion wafers. Anna calls them cardbaord squares. My nephew called them Jeezits. Boulevard is not your typical Baptist church. Their table is open to all denominations and all who believe, so I felt comfortable allowing my Presbyterian children partake, just as they would have in our home church.

They looked at the tiny wafers with great curiosity when the plates were passed. Their expressions turned to ones of distaste as soon as the wafers hit their tongues. Gus made a horrible face. Mia, always the careful one, just took a little nibble. She quickly laid the remainder in her lap. I later learned that her grandmother leaned over and told her she had to eat it. Since I was further down the pew, I missed that part. Guess she didn’t see Anna tucking hers in her pocket!

Poor kid. When the cups were passed, she was so distressed by the element of the unknown in what she had thought was a familiar act that she whispered in Anna’s ear, “So what kind of juice do they have here?”

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Jeezits and Juice*

  1. LOL!

    I've heard wafers called Jeezits. In my circles we call the instruments used for pew communion referred to as shot glasses on a hub cab.

  2. I think of those wafers as “sanitized body of Christ”…or “Styrofoam Jesus”…they are just awful. And, I know most folks use them. And, many monastary's support themselves by baking them….but they really are awful. The rice cracker gluten free aren't so bad…

    sounds like this service gave you and your kids some food for thought and conversation…

  3. with the wafers, alas, two acts of faith are required: the first being, that this IS BREAD. We move on strongly from there…

  4. LOL!

    I've heard wafers called Jeezits. In my circles we call the instruments used for pew communion referred to as shot glasses on a hub cab.

  5. I think of those wafers as “sanitized body of Christ”…or “Styrofoam Jesus”…they are just awful. And, I know most folks use them. And, many monastary's support themselves by baking them….but they really are awful. The rice cracker gluten free aren't so bad…

    sounds like this service gave you and your kids some food for thought and conversation…

Leave a Reply

