simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

No!

That’s a word I haven’t been good at saying since I was, like, 2 or 3! I’m a people pleaser. People are pleased if you do what they ask of you. Serve on this committee? Sure. Meet at this inconvenient time? Ok. Do this task on my day off? Well, I’ve gotten much better about guarding my day off, so that’s not a good example.

I said yes to serving on an administrative commission several months back. Bad, bad, bad decision. It was a total waste of my time. The agendas in that room, the jockeying for power, the underlying stories that this newcomer didn’t know made that assignment hell. I eventually quit going to the meetings. I was frank with my EP about why. I think he understood.

So on the heels of feeling like a failure and/or a slackard, I get this request to serve as chair over one of the ministry units of the presbytery. It’s a good unit. Its assignments are interesting and worthwhile. It has some good committee members. It has potential to become (at least a little) forward thinking because the staff member who consults with this unit is top-notch.

Even though I’d decided that I wasn’t going to accept any responsibilities that don’t fit into what I feel the strengths of my calling to be – worship, mission, and small church ministry/revitalization, I felt my resolves wavering. Until . . .

Oh. my. goodness. It would add somewhere between 16-20 meetings to my schedule over the course of the year, the majority of them at night and 6-8 of them out of town. No, no, no, no, NO!

Now see! That wasn’t so hard after all!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “No!

  1. Maybe one day when your little ones are grown…but way to difficult when you have young kids.

  2. My thoughts exactly, Terri. I even told her that this wasn't the right season in my life to take on such an all-consuming role. She understood. Family first!

  3. Maybe one day when your little ones are grown…but way to difficult when you have young kids.

Leave a Reply

