simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Be Brave!

Sometimes the need for courage comes from unexpected places. Like today, for instance. You see, yesterday I signed up at a nearby gym. I’m somewhat of a winter wimp and I don’t particularly enjoy walking/running on cold or wet days, especially since the only time I can do it is early in the mornings after I drop the kids off at school. The only way I have a hope of being ready is by joining a gym.

There is a 24 Hour World Fitness right around the corner from my neighborhood. I don’t have to sign any long-term contracts and their monthly fee is affordable. They aren’t staffed at 7:30 in the mornings, but their security set-up seems reasonable. So this morning was my first trip in.

There was only one person there when I arrived – a very large, very fit looking man. He seemed nice enough. We nodded a greeting and went our separate ways. (I could almost hear his thoughts: “Here’s a Resolution newbie. She won’t last but a week or two.”) I headed to the treadmills and he hit the free weights. Soon another man came in, then another, then a few more. It seems I have found myself a man’s gym. By the time my hour in the gym was up, it was me and about 8 men.

I’m not afraid to go – not for safety’s sake. I normally have a solid creep radar and with people coming and going it is safe enough. But gyms and weights and such seem like men’s territory and I feel like the interloper. I’m pretty competitive though. I want to prove myself – that I have just as much a place in that gym as anyone. I may not be able to run as long or as fast and I may not be able to lift/push/pull as much weight, but I can work as hard as any man if I put my mind to it. And I will.

But when 7:30 rolls around and it’s time to walk into the man’s gym again, I’ll need a dose of courage to keep me from turning around. So wish me luck. And courage!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

