simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

So. Very. Tired.

I love Christmas. Really, I do. I love Christmas lights, Christmas decorations, Christmas trees, Christmas songs, Christmas services, Christmas anticipation. Oh, and don’t forget all the Christmas cookies and goodies! It’s always been exhausting, in a very fun way. Then I became a preacher, which raised everything to a whole new level of exhaustion.

Now, in addition to attending the Christmas services I also plan them. Have I told you how much I love planning worship? It’s the very best part of this work. (My very most favoritest part EVER!) But it takes a different kind of energy, especially at the holy days. Take that extra energy, multiply by extra services, raise it to the nth degree of working to make everything as meaningful as possible, divided by personal distractions and to-do lists.

Add in being an introvert in an extrovert’s season.

Add in the total lunar eclipse last night, for which I set my alarm so I could see the phenomenon. As Anna said, Mother Nature sure does choose inconvenient times to show off! Stumbling out into the yard at 2:30 a.m. in below freezing temps is not conducive to a good night’s sleep. After just a few minutes of viewing, I was more ready to put on my running shoes and going for a jog than I was to go back to sleep. It was well after 4 before I finally slept again.

Add in the extra stress of incomplete Christmas shopping. I almost cried when a church member offered to keep the kids after work a night or two this week so I can finish up. God bless her soul, and may Santa put an extra gift under her tree!

Add in three kids (yes, my 19-year-old is still a kid) at varying degrees of puny.

Do the math and the sum of what you come up with won’t fit on a classroom whiteboard. It’s exhaustion of epic proportions.

It’s 4 days until Christmas. It’s 3 days until my vacation begins. There’s an incredible amount of things to accomplish in that short period of time, but I’m ready for it to get here.

In the meantime, things like the affirmation that yes, the Blue Christmas Service is definitely worth the effort, even for smaller numbers of people, keep me going.

advent

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

