simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Body Integration

Body Integration This year, when did you feel the most integrated with your body? Did you have a moment where there wasn’t mind and body, but simply a cohesive YOU, alive and present? (Author: Patrick Reynolds)

Integrated with my body? Really? I’m bad about not even noticing it unless something hurts or I’m sick. I can think of two types of situations that are different for me though.

Sometimes when I run, which isn’t often enough, I will hit a zone where everything seems to click – deep breathing, muscles moving, a certain rhythm to movement and thoughts. But that’s only sometimes. Most of the time it’s just exhausting and painful.

The other time I feel this way is when I’m on the beach in the summer. Whether I’m stretched out in the sun or walking in the sand or playing in the waves, I’m aware of the warmth of the sun on my skin, the way the wind cools me, the grittiness of the sand, the smell of the salt air, the push and pull of the waves. I love it!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Body Integration

  1. i've felt that during running. that must be runner's high!

  2. I keep wondering when that runner's high becomes a regular thing. I'm guessing I might actually have to be consistent with a running routine to ever find out!

  3. i've felt that during running. that must be runner's high!

  4. I keep wondering when that runner's high becomes a regular thing. I'm guessing I might actually have to be consistent with a running routine to ever find out!

Leave a Reply

