simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Community

Community Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011? (Author: Cali Harris)

 

I find community in various places. From the outer circles and moving inward:

1) My virtual community began with RevGalBlogPals. I haven’t met most of these precious individuals, but I count them as friends – some of them as close friends. Then it expanded through Facebook, which brought me back in contact with so many people I had lost touch with over the years. Then along came Twitter. Now I have a whole circle of people in ministry and publishing that I would know in no other way. By the way, I’ve never even been to Franklin, TN, but there seems to be a wealth of wonderful, creative, faith-filled folks living there. I’m amazed at how many contacts I’ve accumulated from that area in the past few months.

2) Professional community: This includes some of my colleagues from my former presbytery as well as my new colleagues here. I have to admit that I haven’t found my niche here presbytery-wide, but I do have a couple of colleagues whose friendship/advice I treasure.

3) God has given me the most amazing church family. I came to this place more than a little bruised, battered, burned out, and bordering on becoming cynical about this thing called church. PCPC has shown me that while no community is perfect, there is so much to love about this one. They make me feel loved and appreciated, and even more importantly, they love my children so well.

4) Friends. You know, those people that you may go for weeks, months even (or longer) with little or no contact and then once you talk it’s like nothing has ever changed. I am blessed with some wonderful friends.

5) Family. Thanksgiving was a great reminder of how special these people are to me. We aren’t perfect, but we do love one another. These are the people who have seen me at my worst and have loved me anyway. They’re the ones who have given me the tools to be my best. I try to live up to that for them!

My family

6) My inner, most precious community is my family. My children are my joy. I am my happiest when they are healthy and happy and engaged in life with all the energy and joy that God gives them. If all goes well, my family will grow in the coming months. There’s this wonderful man and the relationship we’ve been building for almost three years now, and two more precious children. This could very well be the biggest dream-come-true of my life.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

