simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Oscar

What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?
(Author: Leo Babauta)

I think the one thing that most keeps me from writing is listening to negative self-talk. I have a vicious inner critic.

“You don’t have anything worthwhile to say. Nobody cares. Nobody will read it, and if they do they’ll see you for your shallow self. You aren’t creative enough, interesting enough, theologically deep enough, original enough to put yourself out there. You aren’t good enough.Keep dreaming, girlie.”

See. I told you he was vicious. And yes, my critic is a he. I’m sure of it. I read recently that you should give your inner critic a name. Supposedly that helps you regain some power against it. Is that for real, or just a bunch of hooey? Just in case, I think I’ll name him. How about Oscar?

“Oscar?! Well isn’t that original?! Oscar the Grouch. Ouch, that really hurts – NOT! You would be scared of a children’s monster!”

Oh shut up, Oscar! Oscar the Grouch. Oscar that means ‘spear.’ We’re going to see about getting that blade to become dull. Jerk.

So what do I do each day that doesn’t contribute to my writing? I listen to Oscar. What can I do to eliminate it? I can tell the Grouch to take his mean old self and his stupid spear and go camp out in the stinkiest trash can in town. (Hmmm. That might be mine. I just changed the cat litter. Perfect!)

Oscar the Grouch Pictures, Images and Photos

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Oscar

  1. oh geeeeeze….I have that same voice in my head. I've never thought about the gender of that voice, but I think mine is a woman…sharp, critical, unforgiving, gossipy, (you know the kind)….when I was growing up Debbie was a popular name (and I was not)..so maybe my voice is Debbie. Or maybe it's a Mrs. Like Mrs. Crabbyvoice. I think that's Mrs. Crabbyvoice, like a mean it -school teacher.

    Frankly though, I enjoy and appreciate what you write on your blog. So, no critical voice from me…

  2. Thanks, Terri! And tell Mrs. Debbie Crabbyvoice to go hop in the trash with Oscar! Lol! Maybe they'll entertain each other enough that they will leave us alone.

  3. Thanks, Terri! And tell Mrs. Debbie Crabbyvoice to go hop in the trash with Oscar! Lol! Maybe they'll entertain each other enough that they will leave us alone.

Leave a Reply

