simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Nightmares and Good Dreams

After watching the finale of Rizzoli and Isles last night, I was convinced I would have nightmares. I know it wasn’t exactly realistic. At least I hope that it wouldn’t be that easy for bad guys to take over a government building without being discovered or challenged. Still, being stalked, hunted, chased – this is the stuff of my worst nightmares. I had to stay up another hour and a half after the show to try to get the shakies to go away. Surprisingly, I didn’t have a nightmare.

My son did.

At 4 a.m., he came into my room to wake me. “Mom, I’m scared. I heard footsteps. Somebody came up the stairs. I saw their shadow in my room and in the hall.” Geez. Thanks, son. I was doing so well, but you had to have my nightmare for me.

I wasn’t too concerned. Rookie hadn’t barked. The cats were sauntering about, unconcerned. My animals would never be so relaxed if there was a stranger in the house. Still, I had to do the downstairs security check. Doors locked? Check. Windows closed and locked? Check. Everything in order? Check.

I tucked my son into bed, reassuring him that he’d just had a bad dream and that everything was fine. “Think good thoughts. Make up your own good dreams!” Then I crawled back in bed, exhausted but wide awake. Remember, my own fear of nightmares kept me up well past midnight.

That’s when my awake nightmares began. While bad guys chase me in my sleep, money and security tend to elude me in my awake nightmares. No, no, no, no, NO!

Think good thoughts. Make up your own good dreams.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Nightmares and Good Dreams

  1. I too need to be careful what I watch before bedtime….and I really hope those good dreams come true.

  2. I too need to be careful what I watch before bedtime….and I really hope those good dreams come true.

Leave a Reply

