simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Waiting

Patience while waiting is not my forte. I doubt it’s yours either. I doubt it’s anyone’s. Sometimes I wait with great anticipation of what I want to happen. Sometimes I find myself waiting with dread for the things I’m afraid will happen. Regardless of what kind of waiting I’m doing, I don’t wait well. I want to do something. Now! Just waiting, just being, just trusting – these things are hard.

I offer a special thanks to Elizabeth Evans Hagan and her post about waiting for introducing me to this prayer written by Sharlande Sledge.

Look upon us gently, Lord, for waiting is not our forte.

So many things are . . . things like moving ahead, fixing what is wrong, planning what is next, diagnosing the problem, cramming more into one day than one person can possibly do before the sun goes down.

But waiting . . . when we are waiting for the light to shine, when we are waiting for the Word, when we are waiting for a wound to heal, nothing in all the world is harder than waiting.

So in your mercy, Lord, wait with us.

Be very present in waiting.  Heal our frenzy. Calm our fears. Comfort those who at this very minute are with every anxious breath and thought waiting for they know-not-what.

Transform our in-the-meantime into your time, while we wait with each other, sit with each other, pray each other into hope, surrounded by your presence, even in the darkness. Especially in the darkness.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. Great to connect with you on the need to wait!

  2. I try really hard to wait with dignity and patience but I am not very good at it…

Leave a Reply

