simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

What Not to Wear

I’ve watched countless episodes of this show with Anna, but tonight’s is of particular interest: an Episcopal priest is the “victim” of the show. The timing is interesting. I’ve been reading through my old posts and I’m noticing that a number of them are related to feeling at home (or not) in my body and the events from my past that have shaped my feelings about my body.

Emily, our Episcopal priest, has in the first few minutes of the show made comments about wanting to blend in and not call attention to herself. She is uncomfortable in her skin, is uncomfortable in fashion, and worries about how she, a priest, will be judged if she should look good.

She keeps saying “I don’t know how to do that,” – that being color, prints, jeans, etc.

Some quotes that stand out to me:

“As a priest, I don’t want to be overly feminized.”

“We are all judged on our exterior appearance.”

“That could be my TV show: The Rumpled Priest.”

I’m not sure of how to blend young and fun and interesting with the part of me that needs to be more serious.”

I think I’ve said most of these things myself!

Her hair stylist just asked her a big question: As a priest, is it ok to be sexy? She said yes! Good for her!

“I think before I was trying to hard to separate them  (her femininity and her priesthood) – to hide one or to hide the other. But no longer.”

It seems that being on the show has helped her make a huge transformation in her self-perception and self-understanding. My own transformation is taking a whole lot longer. At least I’m heading in the right direction.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “What Not to Wear

  1. I am looking forward to seeing the show. She was a student of mine. I've been seeing comments about the rumpled priest all over facebook–mostly teasing her, so I can't wait to see it. (I don't have cable, so I haven't caught it yet)

  2. I didn't get to see the episode, it didn't air where I live in the time frame that I heard it would be on. But, even though I am no longer young (soon to be 53), I have thought a lot about this in the 10 years I've been ordained. Thankfully for me I had/have a woman priest mentor who is about 10 years older. She always looked stylish – hair, makeup, applied lipstick just before going into service, nail polish, and nice clothes. I learned from her to be myself, dress with color and some fashion…

  3. I didn't get to see the episode, it didn't air where I live in the time frame that I heard it would be on. But, even though I am no longer young (soon to be 53), I have thought a lot about this in the 10 years I've been ordained. Thankfully for me I had/have a woman priest mentor who is about 10 years older. She always looked stylish – hair, makeup, applied lipstick just before going into service, nail polish, and nice clothes. I learned from her to be myself, dress with color and some fashion…

  4. I am looking forward to seeing the show. She was a student of mine. I've been seeing comments about the rumpled priest all over facebook–mostly teasing her, so I can't wait to see it. (I don't have cable, so I haven't caught it yet)

Leave a Reply

