simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Good Friday

Small Church did not have a Good Friday service this year, so I joined two of my best friends as we drove up the road to a neighboring town to attend a noon service there. Their local ministerial association combined efforts for the service, a dramatic reading of the passion story. As they reached the point where Jesus appeared before the Sanhedrin, someone’s cell phone began ringing. And ringing. And ringing. One of the participating clergymen, Judas I think, began squirming. It was his phone, tucked away in a pocket underneath his robe. The program continued even as the pastor squirmed to reach the phone to quiet it. Ring. Ring. Ring. At that point, with a question intended for Jesus, the High Priest read his line: “And are you not going to answer?”

I thought I was going to roll right off the pew. Sometimes you just can’t take a preacher to church!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Good Friday

  1. Oh, I wish I had been there to suppress the giggles with you! Thanks for this smile for the day.

  2. bwahahahahaaa!!!!I think I would’ve done a silent laugh strong enough to shake apart the pew.

  3. LOL. So funny.We are all safe, post storms here.Hope you are all good

  4. Oh, that is too much. I can just imagine the suppressed (or not suppressed) snickers all over the church.

  5. I don’t know if I could have NOT snickered.

Leave a Reply

