simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

What’s the Message?

Every week for three years I’ve passed this church on my way to and from ESL classes. For most of those Sundays, I’ve been struck by the display out front. It looks a lot like a replica of Calvary, only instead of crosses for the thieves, there are benches. What is the message?

Meaning

Is the message an invitation, a form of hospitality? “Come, sit at the foot of the cross with us?”

Or is it a message of theology? “Cross? What cross? You don’t need a cross. Come and sit awhile. Relax. Enjoy.”

With signs of the prosperity gospel everywhere around us, you just have to wonder.

Or maybe I just have too much time to think on my commute.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “What’s the Message?

  1. Very good questions….I’d wonder the same thing. I’d also wonder depending on how long the cross and benches have been there, and which came first, if the congregation has any clue what mixed message is being sent?

  2. I am betting that it was not even planned. It actually looks a bit odd.

  3. I am betting that it was not even planned.

    It actually looks a bit odd.

Leave a Reply

