simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Sanctuary

Life has turned me inside, outside, upside down these last several months. Yesterday’s news, while expected, was hard. I find myself feeling anxious about the future and about loved ones. Anxiety will suck the life right out of you, so I decided to seek out some peace today. I had to drive up into the mountains for an appointment this morning. On the way home I made a detour through a quaint little town, home to a tiny Episcopal church tucked up on a hillside. The church is always open. I’ve made stops there in the past for similar reasons: to sit in a quiet beautiful place that exudes peace and to pray. Sometimes I pray with words. Sometimes I pull out a prayer book from one of the pews. Sometimes I just sit and let the Spirit do the talking for me. Today I did a little of each.

I spent some time afterward walking around the sanctuary, inside and out, soaking in the beauty. I wish I had taken my camera with me. All I had was my Crackberry’s camera, so I made do with that.

IMG00335 IMG00320 IMG00324 IMG00329 IMG00355 IMG00354

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Sanctuary

  1. What a nice place to get to go to. I hope things become very clear for you.And your pictures are beautiful.

  2. I hope your time there was as lovely as the surroundings. Praying you’ll find guidance in your leaping.

  3. Lovely…and after reading the following post, I understand the need to stop by for “rest”.

  4. I hope your time there was as lovely as the surroundings. Praying you'll find guidance in your leaping.

  5. What a nice place to get to go to. I hope things become very clear for you.

    And your pictures are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

