simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Spring Break

Sometimes you need to get the heck out of Dodge. Or in my case, sometimes you need to get the heck out of Small Town. Yesterday I made the last minute decision that the best possible use of a portion of my tax return would be a family vacation. I made a quick reservation for three nights in Southern Historic City on the coast. I am thrilled to say that I am writing this from a comfy chair in our hotel room as I listen to my two youngest children’s deep sleep breathing. Rosemary is on her computer emailing her long distance Texas boyfriend who happens to be in Nebraska this week.

This is our first real family vacation with just the four of us. When the kids were younger, I always left one or both of them with grandparents so I could have some quality time with Rosemary. Now that they are a little older, it seemed the time had come. I think they are probably as thrilled with the hotel itself as anything so far. Anything, that is, except for our walk on the beach tonight. It was Ian’s first experience at the beach and Emily’s second. She was too young the first time around to remember it.

They! loved! it!

Mind you, it is just April 1st and it is still a bit cool. That didn’t seem to bother them at all. Here are a few pictures from our after dinner outing at the beach.


Rosemary says that it’s just a little bit cold!


You can’t catch me!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Spring Break

  1. After last week, this is PERFECT! Good for you, taking a vacation. I LOVED seeing these photos of the kids! Thanks for posting this…

  2. Oh, gosh…what beautiful family pictures….enjoy, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

