simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

And a Little Child Shall Lead Them

Today my family gathered at the farm again for a New Year’s/post-Christmas get-together. We were all there except for a niece and her husband and a nephew. I think there were a dozen of us altogether. As we gathered in a circle for our blessing before supper, my four-year-old daughter announced that she would say the blessing. I was expecting her to recite the ever familiar “God is great, God is good” blessing. Instead, she prayed. Really prayed. I wish I could remember exactly what she said. It was something along the lines of “Dear God, thank you for our food – our healthy food. Thank you. Thank you for our friends and for everything. The end. Amen.”

I have watched as her bedtime prayers have begun to move from a short list of thank you’s to short but real conversations with God. It moves me. It motivates me. It makes me want to be more like a little child in the simplicity of faith and acceptance.

Why do we adults make things so hard?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

