simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Halloween Report

She’s such a little princess! Dressing up for Halloween was a hit. Walking downtown for trunk-or-treat was a hit for the first 30 minutes – before the older kids in scary costumes came out. Once the scary masks appeared, she was done. Can’t say I blame her.


Yes, I am aware that the mask hides his handsome little face. The rascal insisted on wearing it for his picture. Otherwise he wouldn’t be really dressed up, you know. He reminded me a dozen times that the red Spiderman was a good guy but the black Spiderman was a bad guy. Nothing much scared him tonight. He got an extra half hour out in the neighborhood with one of his favorite older kids.

As for me, I wore my devil’s horns headband until I got to the free hot dog supper at the Baptist church. Then out of respect or fear – I’m not sure which – I removed it.

My take on costumes – don’t like to spend much money there. Gus’ was a gift from his aunt. Mia’s was on a terrific mark-down sale. My headband – hey, I wear it every year!

My take on candy – I take possession as soon as it enters the house and hand it out over the next few weeks very, very sparingly. My kids have enough energy on their own without a sugar high!

Happy Halloween, everyone!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Halloween Report

  1. Such a sweet happy smile!And of course he had to wear his mask!Glad ya’ll had a good time!

  2. Tell ’em Unca Charles says Hey!

  3. So darling! I take possession of the candy… which unfortunately means I eat most of the candy! 😦

  4. Princesses were definitely the trend this year! And we had two spidermen (red ones, of course)…one so small, I think he wasn’t quite sure why he was there. He obviously liked the “getting candy” part, though! Glad y’all had fun!

  5. Princesses were definitely the trend this year! And we had two spidermen (red ones, of course)…one so small, I think he wasn't quite sure why he was there. He obviously liked the “getting candy” part, though! Glad y'all had fun!

Leave a Reply

