simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

The Church Goes to the ABC Store

I shared a couple of posts down about how I followed one of my elders to the liquor store this afternoon, and how we stood outside the door as I shared with him an item of session business that I wanted him to know about since he did not think he would be at the meeting tonight. This man is a gem and a nutcase, or perhaps a gem of a nutcase. Big heart. Positive outlook. Wicked sense of humor. Generous to a fault. He made it to the meeting after all. I don’t know exactly why he changed his plans, but I’m glad he did.

He told me about the conversation he had with the liquor store owner after I left. The man asked who I was. Don told him. He wondered if I was there getting on to him. Don said, “Of course not.” He then launched into the “I’m a good person. I do good things. I just don’t go to church – too many hypocrits” speech that all ministers have heard hundreds of times. Don’s reply was priceless. “Listen,” he said. “Please don’t go mixing up the Christian church with all those groups out there who call themselves Christian but don’t act like it. There really is a difference, you know.”

You gotta love it when one of your members takes his faith to the streets – and to the ABC store!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The Church Goes to the ABC Store

  1. Amen!

  2. That is so cool!I always tell people *Well there are hypocrites at the grocery store but that does not stop you from buying groceries!*

  3. Priceless! I’ve got to meet this guy.

  4. I lift my glass to Don! L’chaim!

Leave a Reply

