simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

How Did You Know?

You KNOW you are a family when, after being approached at Montreat by genuinely interested people asking about my youngest children’s country of origin, I find myself feeling surprised and wondering, “How did you know they are adopted?” Never mind that Anna and I both envy their beautiful olive skin and look downright pasty next to them. I no longer see any differences at all. They are my children!

I will say that it was refreshing to have my family embraced in such loving ways by strangers. And not a single one of them asked questions that were offensive, rude, or nosy. Have I mentioned before – I LOVE Montreat?!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “How Did You Know?

  1. Alex on said:

    Gosh, this has happened to us so often. Just this weekend, dd and I were having lunch and an elderly woman mentioned how much we look alike. Who knows!?

Leave a Reply

