simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

A Beautiful Day

It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood . . .

A beautiful, cool, rainy day that is. Not the kind of gully-washing downpour that accompanies the ‘funder and lightning that frightens my children. Not the kind of afternoon summer shower that turns all of outdoors into a natural sauna. Not the kind of drizzle that dampens my car just enough to attract all the dust that did not get washed away.

No, this is a sweet, steady rain. It’s the kind that makes it dark and cozy in the morning – so much so that even preschoolers sleep late. It’s the kind that creates that sweet rain fragrance that air freshener companies have tried unsuccessfully to reproduce. It’s the kind that makes the leaves on plants perk up the way that a dog’s ears will when it hears some far away noise unfathomable to human ears. It’s the kind of rain that washes away all the ugliness, the pollen, and the dust.

It’s a beautiful day in my neighborhood. Hope it is in yours as well.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “A Beautiful Day

  1. Oh I wish it would rain like that here.Glad that this is your day!

  2. What a wonderfully lyrical description. It makes me look forward to the next rainy day.

  3. Oh, I dream of rainy days like that. I love to run outside and let the warm rain wash over me. And I love to jump in puddles. And I love to run to the house soaking wet when I’m done.Ah, summer rain.

  4. What a wonderfully lyrical description. It makes me look forward to the next rainy day.

  5. Oh I wish it would rain like that here.

    Glad that this is your day!

  6. Oh, I dream of rainy days like that. I love to run outside and let the warm rain wash over me. And I love to jump in puddles. And I love to run to the house soaking wet when I'm done.

    Ah, summer rain.

Leave a Reply

