simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Who Am I?

Who am I to join another family as they gather at the bedside of a dying loved one?

Who am I to sit in another family’s presence as they make decisions about whether to disconnect life support from their matriarch now that the doctors have concluded that there is no hope?

Who am I to enter the emergency room treatment area to stand beside a member who just killed an innocent bystander in a horrible car accident?

Who am I to speak words of comfort and hope to others when my own heart is breaking in two?

Who am I to teach the truths of the Bible when there are so many that I do not understand myself?

Who am I to pass judgment on a friend, pronouncing that her lifestyle is not fitting for one elected as a spiritual leader in the church?

Who am I to offer words of guidance, reproach, or leadership to Christian men and women with twice as many years of living and experience than me?

Who am I that my words carry weight?

Who am I that my presence brings comfort?

Who am I that my judgments matter?

Who am I?

I am a Pastor.

God help me, I am their pastor.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. This is very moving. It’s humbling work, isn’t it?

  2. But thanks be to God, He does help you….and me…and every single one of those fragile, fallible, inadequate people who share this mind-blowing calling.Praying for you as you try to hold all these things together…

  3. Thanks be to God, you are that. And God is with you.

  4. It is humbling. Thanks for this.

  5. thanks for sharing this insight.

  6. Pingback: June 20th « simplyjan

Leave a Reply

