simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Sadness

sadnessMuch is being said about the tragedy in Aurora, Colorado – endless loops on the news stations, tweets, Facebook status updates. I have nothing new, different, or profound to say. Just sadness. I think even the angels cry over such senseless violence and loss of life.

I have, however, run across a few blog posts that I would like to share. First, from Rachel Held Evans, a prayer. Then, from Janet Oberholtzer, a reminder of things to say and not to say in the face of tragic loss. And finally, a sobering reminder from the blog of one of the victims, Jessica Redfield, who ironically had barely escaped the mass shooting in Toronto just a little over a month ago. She shared what she learned from her earlier brush with death:

I say all the time that every moment we have to live our life is a blessing. So often I have found myself taking it for granted. Every hug from a family member. Every laugh we share with friends. Even the times of solitude are all blessings. Every second of every day is a gift. After Saturday evening, I know I truly understand how blessed I am for each second I am given.

I just wish that she – that all of them – had been given more seconds, days, years to live.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Sadness

  1. Pingback: An Inside Out Day | Cathy's Voice Now

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

