simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Did I Really Do That?

As I read through my twitter feed this afternoon, I ran across this tweet from @jenluit:

Hey,#runners #runnerds, my weekly #whyirun series has an opening for tomorrow. Scheduled post isn’t coming. Anyone want to share?

Obviously this tweet wasn’t meant for me. I mean, I’m not really a runner. I run/walk. Slowly. And I’ve totally wimped out in this latest heat wave. And I’ve never entered a race. Well, I walked the Cooper Bridge Run once. And I’ve walked two MS Challenge Walks – each one 50 miles in 3 days. That was an accomplishment I’m proud of, but I’m most definitely not a runner.

Plus, I’m not really a writer. Not really. I just write blog posts. And sermons. And newsletter articles. And pastoral notes/letters. And a gajillion emails. And Facebook status updates and tweets. That’s about it.

Before I realized what they were doing, my fingers hit “send” on a tweet they typed totally without my permission:

@jenluit If you ever want to hear from a slightly overweight, slow run/walker who has never run a race, but runs anyway, let me know!

What?! Who wrote that? This not-really-writer volunteered to write about being a not-really-runner for a regular series for runners on Jennifer Luitwieler’s blog. For tomorrow. And she said yes!

So if you want to hear what this wannabe writer has to say about being a wannabe runner, tune in tomorrow. In the meantime, check out Jennifer’s book, Run With Me: An Accidental Runner and the Power of Poo.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Did I Really Do That?

  1. Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writer Jobs Available

  2. Jan, You know what I am going to say. You ARE a writer. If you aren’t a writer, then I am not a writer. :) So there. And you are a runner. Maybe not the “I wear $200 running shoes with bright florescent lights and subscriptions to all the magazine” kind of runner, but a runner non the less. And you will run a race one day and you will publish something amazing someday. Can’t wait to read the post tomorrow.

  3. Pingback: My DUMB Goals | Cathy's Voice Now

  4. Pingback: Why I Run « simplyjan

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

