simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Guest Post: The Thief Who Stole My Identity

I recently received an exciting invitation from fellow blogger Beth Woolsey of Five Kids Is a Lot of Kids. She extended to me the opportunity to contribute a post to her Women and Beauty in Faith and Culture series over at her blog. She went on to explain that she is preparing to speak to 150+ junior high girls at a Christian camp about identity: where we get it, what culture tells us, what the Church and Bible tell us, etc. She wrote, “In preparing for the class, I realized a lot of these questions are the same ones I have at 38 years old, and that I answer them differently than I might have been taught at church when I was 13 years old.”

If you’ve read my blog much over the past six months or so – my transition time from Life and Times of a Preacher Mom to Simply Jan – then you know that the subjects of story, identity, and authentic voice are key themes for this stage in my life. Needless to say, I jumped at the chance to write a guest post on this topic.

I hope you will click through to Beth’s blog to to read my contribution there. While you’re there, spend some time browsing her posts. You won’t be sorry!

P.S. There are a few people who read my blog who knew me back in those preteen/teen days that I write about in this blog post. There is a paragraph about 2/3 through that may stir your curiosity. I am vague (there and here both) on purpose, but just so you know, the individual of whom I speak in that paragraph is no longer in the Anderson community. No need to study our fine fathers (now grandfathers, and in some cases great-grandfathers) with suspicion. Just give them an extra hug for all they’ve done for us.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

