simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Friday Five: Extreme Random

Today is Friday Five day over at RevGalBlogPals. Me random? Never! (Ha!)

random

Hi there~~
Happy Friday to all of you.  Today’s Friday Five has no theme, other than randomness.
That’s o.k., right?
So, just to get to know each other a little bit (even more) here is the meme:

1.  What is the first thing that comes to your mind (right now) that you want to share about yourself.

Speaking of random, I tend to be a bit random in my thoughts when I drive the kids to school in the morning. For example, yesterday I considered why mosquito bites on fingers and toes itch worse than bites on arms and legs. Do you know? Today’s thoughts centered around wondering why, in my mid-forties, I should be subject to the beginnings of smile lines (wrinkles), enlarged freckles (sun spots), failing skin elasticity (grandma skin), and zits, all at the same time. Seriously, world, where is the justice in this?!

2.  What is your favorite piece of jewelry or accessory? Why?

I don’t wear much jewelry, mainly because I don’t own much jewelry. That’s what being single for most of your adult life does for you. I do have a few pieces of jewelry. My favorite is a silver bracelet that Anna gave me for Christmas a couple of years ago. It is pretty, and more than that, I know she spent a lot of time selecting it.

3.  If you could have a starring role in a T.V. show/movie/series, which one would it be, and what would your character be like?

I would love to do an updated version of On the Road with Charles Kuralt. This version would be On the Road with Simply Jan. (Don’t you love my original title?) I would love to travel all over for the express purpose of discovering unique people and places, doing interviews, and sharing interesting stories. That would be the perfect job!

4.  What is one thing you will eat this weekend?

I am 99.9% sure that I will have a Texas Roadhouse steak and baked potato before the weekend is out. My family is nothing if not food-predictable!

5.  How do you waste time? (If you do, that is…)

Would I ever waste time?! Duh! Like many others, Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and Google Reader are my go-to time wasters. (Although I prefer to think of them as things that keep me connected to the world.) Don’t be fooled, however. I will even do housework to keep from writing sermons some days!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Friday Five: Extreme Random

  1. As an antsy and not entirely by choice stay-at-home-mom, I totally count the internet as my way of staying connected, but I suppose it does veer into time-wasting occasionally (how much is an ongoing debate in my house).

    • Bless you, Bookgirl! Stay-at-home moms definitely need ways to stay connected to the outside (adult) world. Don’t feel guilty for that at all! When the debate rages at home, just point out how much time would be wasted if you totally lost your mind! Lol! Best wishes!

  2. So far I’ve avoided Pinterest. I should keep doing that, right?

    • Martha, it depends on how much time you have to play around with. I resisted Pinterest for a long time because I saw how addicted Anna was to it at first. Then I got bit by the Pinterest bug. I limit my time there because I’ve not figured out how to leverage it for good other than for my pure entertainment. I will say that there are some good ideas/photos/inspirational quotes/recipes to be found there. As far as the recipes go, as best I can tell they all contain a zillion and four calories each, so beware!

  3. Totally get the zit, wrinkles, and smile line thing. And I am pushing 50. Oh dear!

  4. Isn’t it just horrible?! For some reason my 47-year-old skin is reliving its 13-year-old break-out days. I can’t for the life of me figure out why. Hardly seems fair!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

