simplyjan

A Simple Look at a Not-So-Simple Life

Taking the Plunge

I’ve made a decision. (Yeah, I know. Me! A decision! Who knew that was possible?) I’ve decided to take part in a writing intensive course this summer. For three months, I will be a part of a group, probably 4-6 in size. Each one of us will be working on a specific project and we will be offering support and feedback to each other. We will meet by teleconference every other week to review/critique each other’s work and to hold one another accountable. For me, this is big. It’s one thing to hold myself accountable to posting on the blog every day for the month of May. I doubt any of you would take me to task if I missed a day. In fact, you probably wouldn’t even notice. But to be a part of a group that expects me to upload my work for their review on a regular basis, to put myself out there for critique, and to commit to narrowing myself down to a specific project? Yeah. Big.

I’ve worked with Anita, the group leader once before in the writing workshop earlier in the year. That group was inspiring and affirming. I met with her last week to talk about possible projects. I’m pretty ADD when it comes to writing. You’ve seen here on my blog that I’m usually all over the place as far as themes and topics. She helped me focus in on a couple of possibilities and I will work in the next few weeks to sharpen that focus into a workable project. I’ll be asking for your input and support, so stay tuned!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Taking the Plunge

  1. Sounds wonderful!

  2. I'm really excited, Songbird. Remind me of that when I feel overwhelmed mid-project! Please!

  3. Excited for you and, for the record, if I thought you intended to write every day, then yes I'd miss you and wonder if you were OK…

  4. Anonymous on said:

    Terri, thank you. That means a lot to me.

  5. Anonymous on said:

    Terri, thank you. That means a lot to me.

  6. Excited for you and, for the record, if I thought you intended to write every day, then yes I'd miss you and wonder if you were OK…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

